Fashion, Fashion News

Edward Enninful Confirmed at British Vogue

Omg. I’m so excited. I know that is possibly the least sophisticated way possible to start a post but I am genuinely thrilled to hear the news that Edward Enninful will be taking the position of Editor in Chief of British Vogue, replacing Alexandra Shulman effective August 1st. Edward freaking Enninful going to British Vogue. Wow.

This is exciting on so many levels. Firstly, a new editor in chief means a new direction for the magazine. I’m particularly excited about this because I am actually an avid reader of British Vogue. I’ve had a subscription since I was twelve years old and I look forward to reading it every single month. In fact, just today I read the May 2017 issue whilst enjoying the sunshine in Central Park. I like British Vogue under Shulman but I do agree with lots of the criticism of her magazine (e.g. lack of diversity, very specific target market – rich women who live in the countryside). I’m interested to see what Enninful’s take on the magazine will be. Will he completely change the direction in terms of features or will he keep things largely the same? I enjoy reading British Vogue because of the features in it, more so than the editorials often. Sometimes I can tell that an article has not been written for me at all but other times I really enjoy it. For example, in this month’s issue there was a great article about Gosha Rubchinskiy that I found interesting and actually informative. I think they do a good job of having at least two standout articles per issue so I’d like to hope that things continue this way, perhaps improving even further.

Secondly, what is going to happen to the British Vogue team? It must be rather frightening when your editor is leaving because often when a new one comes in the staff changes entirely. I hope that the core team stays the same because I honestly think that British Vogue has a great team. I love Sarah Harris, Julia Hobbs, Ellie Pithers, and Naomi Smart. There’s obviously so many more team members but they are people who I know of that I admire. I expect that Enninful will bring in some new fashion editors and start to work with different photographers and models too. I’m guessing it will mean less Mario Testino, more Mert & Marcus.

Enninful has had such an amazing career up until this point and this feels like such a moment to celebrate in fashion. Everywhere I’ve looked the reaction to his appointment has been extremely positive with everyone saying how he’s so deserving and the best candidate for the job. I’m really happy for him too and I’m excited to see what happens next. Congratulations to Edward Enninful!

Standard

Share your thoughts

