Advertising, Fashion

Calvin Klein “Moonlight” Ads

Previously on here I’ve mentioned how I was so obsessed with the #mycalvins campaign and how I was curious to see where things would go from there under Raf Simons. Now the first set of images under his tenure have been released and, honestly, I love them. The cast of Moonlight, Best Picture winner, look so amazing in the ads and I’ve realised that I prefer the stripped-back, minimalistic vibes so much more than the social media driven #mycalvins. In fact, it takes you right back to the heyday of CK in the early 90s. Shot by Willy Vanderperre, the campaign images are worthy of an exhibition. Every time I see one at a bus shelter I take a photo.

I’m interested in finding out more about how advertising works at Calvin Klein. As far as I’m aware they have their own in-house advertising department, meaning that it is somebody’s job to come up with the creative concepts exclusively for the brand. That must be so exciting during a transition time like this (especially with the entry of Raf Simons who is just insanely talented and influential), knowing that you are directly responsible for public perception of the brand.

Alex Hibbert

Alex Hibbert

Ashton Sanders

Ashton Sanders

Mahershala Ali

Mahershala Ali

Mahershala Ali

Mahershala Ali

Trevante Rhodes

Trevante Rhodes

Standard

Share your thoughts

