Editorial, Fashion

Best of 2016 – Vogue Editorials

I look forward to writing this post every year because it is an excuse for me to trawl through the internet looking for images that I find inspiring. I trust Vogue’s all around the world to create stellar content that both inspire and evoke other emotions in me. I love a good fashion editorial. I wish that I could be paid to create them and that I had the resources to do so.

What makes a good editorial? To me, the model. I have to like the model and find her appealing or else I won’t enjoy the images, even if the styling is good. I also think the photographer is important as there are some whose style I don’t particularly like and others who I am taken by. Finally, the fashion editor helps immensely. Without their vision the editorial wouldn’t exist. I love how fashion is such a collaborative creative process. All of the people involved are needed.

Anyway, as per usual I’m reviewing British Vogue, American Vogue, Italian Vogue, and Vogue Paris in this post. Enjoy!

British Vogue

563126-800wFirst Light

Photographer – Tyrone Lebon, Stylist – Francesca Burns, Models – Frederikke Sofie & Damaris Goddrie

See full editorial here. 

460844-800wGet In Line

Photographer – Alasdair McLellan, Stylist – Kate Phelan, Model – Anna Ewers

See full editorial here. 

523426-800w

As Time Goes By

Photographer – Mario Testino, Stylist – Lucinda Chambers, Model – Erin O’Connor (various)

American Vogue

Ready Set Gala

Photographer – Theo Wenner, Stylist – Sara Moonves, Models – Lily Aldridge & Emily Ratajkowski

See full editorial here.

Major General

Photographer – Mikael Jansson, Stylist – Tabitha Simmons, Models – Edie Campbell & Grace Hartzel

See full editorial here.

Drop Everything

Photographer – Alasdair McLellan, Stylist – Tonne Goodman/Michael Philouze, Model – Imaan Hammam

Vogue Italia 

Note: Since writing this the much loved Editor-in-Chief Franca Sozzani passed away at just 66 after a year long battle with an illness. This came as such a shock to me as I had no idea she was unwell. It was very sad news. In the days after her death you could truly see the admiration and love for her from the fashion community as a whole which was really beautiful. Rest in peace.

In the Mood for Lightness

Photographer – Paolo Roversi, Stylist – Jacob K, Models – Estella Boersma, Amalie Moosgaard, Cecilie Moosgaard, Julie Hoomans, Odette Pavlova, Peyton Knight & Roos Abels

See full editorial here.

Valentino

Photographer – Sarah Moon, Stylist – Patti Wilson, Model – Molly Bair

See full editorial here.

Freja Beha Erichsen

Photographer – Peter Lindbergh, Stylist – Clare Richardson, Model – Freja Beha Erichsen

See full editorial here.

Vogue Paris

Back to Black

Photographer – Claudia Knoepfel, Stylist – Veronique Didry, Models – Grace Elizabeth & Mathilde Brok Brandi

See full editorial here.

Mes Nuits Sont Plus Belles Que Vos Jours 

Photographer – Mert & Marcus, Stylist – Emmanuelle Alt, Models – Irina Shayk & Steffy Argelich

See full editorial here.

Oh! You Pretty Things

Photographer – Mert & Marcus, Stylist – Emmanuelle Alt, Models – Bella Hadid, Taylor Hill, Jena Goldsack

See full editorial here.

 

Standard

Share your thoughts

