Fashion, Shopping

Shopping Find: Fashion Nova vs Atsuko Kudo

Google “Kim K latex dress” and the Atsuko Kudo website will come up, alongside a pretty hilarious article on Cosmopolitan about what it’s really like to wear the infamous style. A material formerly confined to sex shops, latex is now hot. Weirdly enough, I kind of want to get on board. There’s something intriguing to me about being wrapped in this tight little dress and probably having to take baby steps all evening. At least you know your body looks damn good.

Seeing it on Kim Kardashian didn’t really do too much for me however. Her body is very different from my own so I couldn’t tell how it would look on me, or at least someone with my figure. Along came Nicola Peltz who first wore the black version then later wore the blue version for Halloween this year (dressed as Barbie). Honestly, my favourite colourway is the pink one that Kim wore. If I were to buy one, I’d probably buy that. Black gives slightly too much of a dominatrix vibe to me.

The coolest thing about the Atsuko Kudo dresses is that you can have them custom made to fit you. You send away your measurements and then they make a latex dress to fit your body perfectly. I think that is key when it comes down to wearing this kind of dress. You don’t want any wrinkles or baggy areas. However, if you don’t want to wait for the custom made dress you can order a standard size as well.

barbie vibes 🦄🌟👽💗☄️

A post shared by Nicola Peltz (@nicolaannepeltz) on

Fashion Nova also do a similar dress. The style is almost identical. They both have the moulded cups (which I love) but the biggest difference is the thickness of material. Obviously the Fashion Nova one isn’t made from latex, more a thinner synthetic material, and it is a hell of a lot less expensive. Also the Fashion Nova style has an exposed zip on the back. I don’t think this is a spot-on imitation of the more expensive style but I do think it’s a good way to get the look for less. Let’s be honest, this isn’t a dress that you’re going to wear very many times therefore aren’t you better buying the cheaper version? Unless you’re a celebrity, I can’t imagine why you wouldn’t take the Fashion Nova option. Yes, the legit latex dress looks hot (in many ways) but for a wear-once dress maybe the Fashion Nova option is the better one. Either way, your Instagram pictures will be fire.

SHOP ONLINE

Atsuko Kudo – $375 + VAT

Fashion Nova – $32.99

 

Standard

Share your thoughts

