Personal

Further Thoughts – Current Career Musings/Social Media Strategy Combo

I’M GOING TO COMBINE TWO POSTS HERE BECAUSE I WROTE THEM ONE DAY AFTER ANOTHER AND THEY’RE ON A SIMILAR TRAIN OF THOUGHT :)

New York is the place to be for creativity I think. Since getting here I have become further inspired to do something really cool, to push myself outside of the boundaries I had previously set; whether that is communicated via my style of dress (which is rather conservative and put-together compared to many people here surprisingly), a set of images that I could create (or at least assist on), or the way I carry myself. I want to be somebody successful, but not necessarily somebody. I feel like I’m stuck in a little bit of a dilemma right now. In this social media age the easiest (and most common) path to success is forged on a high online following, yet I have a private Instagram account. In my opinion, it’s not even about who you know but who knows you. I want to be successful and create a career for myself without having to put my whole life on the internet. Is that possible in this day and age?

Honestly, I’m very interested in styling at the moment. Working at a fashion magazine was always my dream when I was a kid but I always told myself no. It’s not possible. But why isn’t it possible? I could make it happen if I really tried hard enough. I know that when you look at the American Vogue masthead almost everyone is a socialite or related to someone powerful/wealthy/influential. I am neither of these things, nor do I know anybody who is. But does that mean I should give up? Or should I find another path to success? Or another magazine to aspire to? Or another aspect of styling? I feel like I’m at a stage in life where I have so many questions that I’d like to find answers to and I’m not exactly sure how to do it.

Celebrity styling appeals to me too. For example, Rachel Zoe’s empire is extremely admirable. She lives a great life and loves what she does, and that’s very important to me. Another, perhaps more current, example would be Monica Rose who styles the Kardashians. The effect of her styling is very real and pronounced on pop-culture nowadays. I’d love to wield that influence one day but then again I’d also love to do more conceptual, creative things. Shiona Turini has a career that I’d like to replicate somehow. She has a good mix of styling (editorials), magazine work (for example, picking products for certain themes on “trend” pages), and music video/celebrity work (Beyonce’s Formation, Solange’s Cranes in the Sky).

So what’s the best way to start doing all of this? That’s what I’m currently trying to work out. I mentioned this a little bit in my previous post and since then I have been thinking a little bit more. I still don’t have it all worked out yet (but who does?) but I do feel like I have a rough idea at least. Logically, it’s interning. I think when it comes to looking for internships next summer I will focus on PR/Editorial and maybe showrooms. For now, buying is out. In the meantime, I’m going to try and assist people on photoshoots and shadow them so I can learn how this is done. It’s hard to find people to reach out to and also kind of scary (what if they don’t reply? what if they think you’re dumb?) but it’s the only way for me to start. Also, should I start taking photos for my blog? Should I begin YouTube (but I don’t want to speak so that’s probably a bad idea)? I know that I don’t want to turn this into a style blog. That would be extremely hypocritical for me given that I’ve been rather skeptical of them in the past and have also never regularly read or looked at once myself. But do I want to start doing shoots of other people? Or taking photos of products? I’m not sure.

Whatever path I take, I’m excited to see what happens. I’m in New York City. If there’s anywhere to try something new it’s here. This is the land of opportunity. Sometimes I forget that. Also, if I never try something I’ll never know. Stay tuned to see what happens. I hope I can make something really cool happen.


Social media, privacy, and oversharing; three ideas that I think all go hand-in-hand. In this digital age all of the aforementioned are of increased importance. Somehow I’ve been social media shy. It’s strange because a few years ago, during high school, I loved social media. I used Twitter so often that I was put on tweet limit a bunch of times. I had thousands of followers from all over the world and I interacted with people I didn’t know every single day. One day I got spooked. I don’t even know why. I turned all of my accounts to private, I blocked people I didn’t know on Instagram just so they couldn’t follow me, and I deleted Twitter. I couldn’t even give you a valid reason as to why I did this. Genuinely, I have no idea. Nothing bad happened to me, no one bullied me, no one stalked me, nothing crazy. I just got very into this idea that I shouldn’t put my life out there for people to see.

Now that I’m in New York my attitude is beginning to change. I’m starting to realise that you need to use social media as a tool. And hey, it is actually fun. For example, I use Instagram as a bit of a moodboard. If you look at my feed I post mainly pictures that inspire me or that I aspire to be like. There are also a few selfies (literally 6 since 2012) and lots of random shots of scenery and buildings. It’s scary to me that social media can literally land you – or cost you – a job. The fact that your Instagram could have an impact on your career is bizarre. But that’s the modern world.

This weekend (15th October) I’m helping out on a photoshoot. I’m learning the ins and outs of styling because I think it’s something I would actually like to pursue and make something out of. Today I went to pick up the pulls from a showroom. This was a fun experience as I got to have a look around and meet people who worked there, plus I got to leave with a garment bag filled with samples. Tomorrow we are doing the actual shoot, super early (5:30am call time!) but also super fun. This is a genuine immersive learning experience for me. It’s all good googling things and finding out information that way but until you’ve tried it yourself you really never know.

I know that if I tried hard enough with styling I could do something with it. I may not make it to Rachel Zoe’s level of empire (although celebrity styling is an entirely different field), but I may also make something really cool out of this. I keep forgetting that I’m only 18 and I still have a whole life ahead of me to figure everything out. It’s probably because I seem to surround myself in the company of others who are at different stages in life and different stages in their careers that I sometimes forget how young I actually am or how much time I do have. Now is the time to experiment and New York is the place to do that.

In celebration of all things new and open, I made my Instagram account public. Feel free to follow me – @_evegardiner – and keep updated with what I’m thinking at that point in time. I do feel like I have neglected this blog a little bit since getting here and honestly I don’t have an excuse. I’m just so caught up in life and thinking about other things that this has been on the backburner. However, I think I should make a more pronounced effort to develop this blog into something I’d gladly promote to the world and create content that is worth reading. Imagine a Man Repeller style website. If only I could create content quite like that. My dream would be the same mix of humour and writing as those girls have, a little bit of intellectual fashion posts (a la Alexander Fury), and some images from photoshoots if I ever get around to doing any. One thing is for sure, this will not become a style blog. I promise.

Standard

Share your thoughts

