Personal

Thoughts

I can’t believe how quickly I have settled into life here. It’s weird. I’ve been speaking about moving here for years yet now I’m here I feel like I’ve never lived anywhere else. Honestly, I’m slighly disappointed that I’ve lost my excitement already. Sometimes I have to stop and remind myself that I’m in New York and that I don’t have to go home because this is now home. I need to remind myself to check my privilege too. I forget that people live in states worse than I do. When I complain about my creaky floorboards or the chipped paint on the bathtub, I feel like I’m invalidating the problems of others, the real problems. Even in comparison to some of my friends who are still living in dorms I am living a very different life and I often forget that. I am incredibly lucky. I know that for sure but I just need to remind myself every single day.

Since moving to New York I’ve done so many things that I’ve forgotten what it was like before. It’s scary to think I’ve only known people here for a little under two months because I feel like I’ve known them for years. I’m incredibly settled, already. I got a tattoo. I’ve been to a bunch of galleries and museums. I’ve been to nice restaurants. I’ve been in some great apartments. I’ve shopped, or at least browsed, in some of the finest stores possible. I’ve survived with less than a dollar in my purse. I’ve taken the subway at all hours of the night. I’ve built up all of the furniture in the apartment by myself (or with a little bit of help from my friends). I’ve cooked and burnt dinner. I’ve taken my laundry to the laundromat (for wash and fold, because I’m too lazy to wait for it and there’s no laundry in my building). I’ve navigated my way around a zillion local grocery stores and dragged groceries all the way from Trader Joe’s 50 blocks away just because I like the food. All regular experiences here but things I didn’t do so much at home.

The one thing I’ve noticed since moving here is that everything I thought I knew I wanted has been turned on its head. I’m not sure if that’s because I’m learning more about what everything actually entails during classes in school or if I’m just feeling a little bit more brave than I was before. I’m wondering if it’s worth taking a risk and doing something that would make me less money but (probably) happier? Then I get in my head and realise that maybe, fiscally, that’s a dumb decision to make. I want to do something less corporate than being a buyer, for now. I’ve always wanted to go into styling, whether that be editorial, celebrity, or e-commerce. I think all of the above would be fun and if I did it right I could turn it into a good career. I could even travel with it instead of just being in New York, but it would be a risk for me to take. I don’t even know how I would get started. YouTube? A style blog? A PR internship? Working in a showroom? My plan is to reach out to some people that I admire for advice and just hope that they respond. They say the way to make it in fashion is to have connections but of course I don’t yet have any. I’m excited to see how things turn out though as I know if I work hard enough and am good enough I could end up doing something really awesome.

Random things:

Current playlist on Tidal

Peter Dundas exits Cavalli, yet another move in the everchanging world of fashion

My favourite collection from Fashion Month

Good NY Times article on Shiona Turini

Solange’s Cranes in the Sky video (amazing visuals and a beautiful song from a beautiful album)

A very nice but overpriced penthouse that I’d gladly accept the keys to (for free, of course)

Freedom NYC – the best thing produced by Vogue for as long as I can remember (with stellar casting)

Standard

Share your thoughts

