Fashion Week

New York Fashion Week Highlights – Spring 2017

It has been a crazy few weeks. This is one of the first posts that I’m actually writing in New York since I arrived here. For a quick update, I moved around 4 weeks ago now. I lived in dorms for two weeks then I decided to move out on my own and here I am in my own apartment now. Truly living the dream. Anyhow, I missed fashion week sign up because I was apartment hunting then signing a lease. I’m a little bit disappointed that I had to keep up to date with things just via the internet instead of being there to experience it myself, but hey there’s always fashion week again in February. FIT is great though as they help you get involved in a variety of shows. I have friends who did the Tommy Hilfiger rehearsal show and got to walk the runway to help them time the music and rides to the marks hit by the models. It sounded super cool.

It is very strange because this is the first time that I’ve ever been in the same city as fashion week when it was actually happening yet I felt very disconnected from it. The only show I streamed was Alexander Wang, I barely looked at the Vogue Runway app, and I even scrolled past a bunch of images on Instagram. I was very distracted with other things unfortunately. However, I’ve had a look through literally every collection available on Vogue Runway (I always have an urge to type style.com here) and here are my thoughts.

Brandon Maxwell

It is strange to think that a year ago Brandon Maxwell was just Lady Gaga’s stylist. He has come so far in such a short time. Think of all of the celebrities who have worn his designs recently: for example, Naomi Campbell at the VMAs (she wore two different looks). I really like what he does. His designs are slightly old Hollywood but feel modern. He uses all of my favourite fabrics (you know I die for silk and satin), he picks colours that I would pick, and he chooses shapes and silhouettes that I love. Basically, I think we have a similar aesthetic. It is nice to know that there’s another designer at fashion week whose show I can look forward to seeing. This season my favourite look would have to be the black pant suit with the silk, plunging top underneath. Super sexy. I also loved the second look, the white dress with the tiered, flouncy skirt.

Sally LaPointe

As I’ve said a million times on here before, I love Sally LaPointe. I want to dress like her woman. In fact, a lot of the time I already do. Her designs speak to me and I feel like they are made for me, which is what I’m always looking for when it comes to fashion week. I want to see pieces that feel very me. This season she did a lot of cool embellishments with beading and feathers, plus she had some cool corsetry that wasn’t too extreme for me to feel intimidated by. The only thing I didn’t like was the lace up pants but that’s something I’ve always hated, not just by her. I also liked how there was a little bit more daywear in this collection. For example, the floaty shorts that she showed in a few colourways could be worn during the day more casually, with a cotton t-shirt, or in the evening paired with the embellished tops as shown in the show. The look with the cropped khaki pants and the sheer blouse would also work during the day. Overall, a great collection from one of my true favourites. I hope her brand continues to grow.

Alexander Wang

As always, I livestreamed the Alexander Wang show. One day I’ll be there I hope but for now the livestream is almost as exciting. There was a lot of cool lingerie inspired pieces, hidden details like the floral linings on skirts, a fun soundtrack, and the afterparty looked dope. I didn’t like the neons but loved the lace up details, even though they weren’t entirely new. The surplice necklines were also appreciated as the whole robe style is my favourite look. I cannot count the amount of tops and dresses I own with this look because it looks sexy, even if you have small boobs. Once again Wang produced a commercial, sellable collection and that’s what I like about his brand. It’s accessible but still exclusive in a way. You feel cool wearing it.

Dion Lee

As soon as I spotted this collection I knew I had to mention it. It was one of the few collections this fashion week that stopped me scrolling and made me really look at it. Let me start this off by saying I have never seen any Dion Lee clothes in store so I have no idea what it really looks like. Based off the runway images, it is cool. However, I’d like to make an effort to see some in person so I’m going to research some New York based stockists. The first thing that struck me was the colours of the four opening looks. Beige. My favourite neutral. Couple the colour with another element that I love, belts, and I knew we were onto a winner.

And the rest…

As always, I adored Altuzarra, especially the snakeskin shirt dress. He also managed to make gingham look sexy once again. Only Joseph Altuzarra.

I loved Wes Gordon‘s lookbook. It was cool seeing places that I’ve actually been used as the locations for the shots. Also, the clothes were super pretty and very me. I can see myself in a lot of the pieces, unmodified, and that’s rather rare when it comes to “fashion week” clothing.

Narciso Rodriguez is a brand that I don’t think gets nearly enough hype. Every single season he produces a collection of beautiful, streamlined, wearable pieces that I can imagine a lot of people wearing. I’d love to know how well the line sells as I can imagine it being the unassuming kind of designer goods that wealthy people actually buy. This silver fluid slip is to die for.

This J Mendel dress deserves a red carpet moment. 

I would love this dress (or the Zara copy, let’s be honest) from Carolina Herrera because it makes me think of something Grace Kelly would’ve worn back in the 50s. Very Hitchcock but less restrictive. I love anything with a matching belt.

I expect to see this Proenza Schouler look on many magazines covers/in editorials next Spring. It’s very striking.

I found a few items in the Yeezy show kinda cool, but I think that may be because I was still on a high from his concert when I seen the show images. I stood in line for an hour for a t-shirt. I sipped the Kool-Aid.

I am obsessed with these two dresses (i & ii) from Brock Collection. No furs this season but still a collection that I enjoyed.

Hellessy’s interpretation of the off-the-shoulder trend was the best I’ve seen.

Area always have the coolest lookbooks. I think it’s the lighting that does it. I don’t even need a show from them because their lookbooks highlight the product even more effectively I think.

I really liked Oscar de la Renta this season then I found out that it was the designers from Monse who did the show. It all makes sense now, especially given that when I seen Monse my initial thoughts were favourite show so far. It is definitely a brand to keep an eye on over the coming seasons.

Jonathan Saunders’ first collection for Diane von Furstenberg was interesting. I found the shapes more youthful than usual. It was cool but still DVF. I especially liked the two tone wrap dress with the toffee and the black and white stripes. Very cool.

Standard

Share your thoughts

