Fashion, Shopping

Shopping Find: Isabel Marant vs Zara

The look that stood out to me from the Fall 2016 Isabel Marant show was the Prince of Wales check dress. To me it was so 80s, a little bit punk, so fun, and so appropriate for every possible situation. I still worked in an office when I seen the show so I thought it was a more interesting twist on what could be a boring work dress, based on the wrap over detail and the extra fabric to add a little flounce. Also, I loved the oversized safety pin detail as it is something that adds a little bit extra cool but could easily be missed if you wanted to hide it. In the collection, there was also a cute skirt in a similar fabric which featured a tied waist; I would settle for this too.

Left - Isabel Marant, Right - Zara

Left – Isabel Marant, Right – Zara

Fortunately, the fast fashion store that everyone loves to hate/hates to love, Zara came along and produced a pretty good copy. Yes, the red stripe is missing from the pattern but apart from that the shape and the overall design are pretty much spot on. I bought this skirt as soon as I saw it and then immediately felt guilty afterwards for two reasons: 1, because I had planned to stop buying less things from fast fashion stores after I began researching it, and 2, because I actually wanted to buy the Isabel Marant dress. It was going to be my one splurge of the year. However, I have since remembered that I’m going to be a student and have no income therefore I should just forget about buying nice things anyway. Also, I had a gift card to spend in Zara so I was going to be buying something inevitably.

I plan to wear this skirt in both summer and winter. For the summer I’m thinking about a silky cami top tucked in and for the winter I’m planning a long sleeved, low back bodysuit. I think the skirt would look really great with some black ankle boots (patent, preferably) and tights.

 

SHOP ONLINE

Isabel Marant – £280

Zara – £29.99

If anybody knows where I can get the dress photographed above please let me know. Currently, Net a Porter don’t carry it.

Standard

Share your thoughts

