Fashion, Shopping

SHOPPING FIND: Chanel VS Zara

Ever since the classic Chanel slingbacks came back into fashion a couple of seasons ago, I wanted a pair. For one, they’re timeless. They are the kind of shoes that you can wear at 20, 40, or 80 and still look impossibly chic. The style can translate from day to night depending on how you style them and they look equally as good with boyfriend jeans as they do with a black dress. Versatility is key for me as I like to get as much use out of my possessions as I can, or else I feel like they’re just a waste.

Everyone’s favourite high street copy cat Zara have come out with their own pair, and surprisingly late may I add. The Chanel shoes come in two styles – leather or suede – whereas the Zara shoes are just suede. However, the colours are identical and from afar you probably couldn’t tell the shoes apart. The Zara shoes also have a closed back instead of a slingback.

My shoes got delivered earlier today (this is 8th July as I type this) so I have only tried them on indoors thus far. All I can say is ouch. As the back of the shoe is hard, I think they will take some breaking in. I plan to wear them with socks inside for a while then maybe try them outdoors. I’m going for afternoon tea at a nice hotel tomorrow afternoon so I’m thinking of wearing them there since I will be seated for most of the time and it will only be for a couple of hours anyway. I do not know how comfortable the Chanel shoes are as I’ve never even managed to see them in person, never mind try them on. However, for £450 I would expect a decent level of comfort.

Leandra Medine of the Man Repeller in her Chanel slingbacks, linked via her website

On top of this, I’ve found a fantastic dupe for the tights that were featured in almost every look in the Paris-Rome show that I adored so much. Initially I had planned to buy the Chanel tights, naively thinking that they would be affordable. After seeing them in a Vogue editorial with a three figure price tag (I’m going to say £250ish) I decided that I needed to look elsewhere. Lo and behold, my good trusty friend Amazon came to the rescue. The tights on Amazon are one size but for reference I am 5 foot 3 and they fit my legs fairly well with just a little bit of extra material around the toes. To top it all off, they’re less than £10. A steal if there ever was one.

SHOP ONLINE

Zara – £29.99

Amazon – £6.99 in the style Mixed Pattern (drifting in and out of stock at the moment), the brand is Yummy Bee

Chanel does not do online shopping unfortunately. Find your nearest stockist here.

Standard

Share your thoughts

