Fashion, Opinion

Vetements/Gucci

Following my last post about Demna Gvasalia and his work at both Vetements and Balenciaga, I read a fantastic interview by Alexander Fury for T Magazine. He talks with Demna and Alessandro Michele of Gucci, another brand that I am not keen on its new direction, about the similarities between the two designers and how they are changing the industry through their work. The interview could not have come at a better time for me because I really would like to understand these designers and their ideas, even if their aesthetics don’t align with my own. They are perhaps the most talked about people in fashion presently so it would be silly to be dismissive altogether.

One of the biggest things that resonated with me about both of these men was that they were interested in designing clothes as opposed to fashion. To some people there may not be a big difference but I think that in an era of editorials which are really just paid brand advertisements, there is a lot to be said for brands who focus on each individual item of clothing. Realistically, people wont buy the whole runway look. When you see someone dressed in head to toe runway, it is usually a celebrity, a model, or someone looking to get on a street style blog. These men both want their customers to buy something and wear it their own way. That’s important to me. Clothes need to be functional or else they’re just frivolous.

So whilst I still don’t particularly like these designers, I can appreciate where they are coming from more now than I did before. And honestly, there’s probably at least one piece from each of their collections that I’d gladly wear, styled to suit the rest of my wardrobe of course…

READ THE ARTICLE HERE

Standard

Share your thoughts

