Fashion, Shows

Fashion Flashback: Christian Dior Spring 2010

I’m beyond obsessed with this show and I’ll put that down to the model line-up. By 2009 the Russian wave was nearing its end and this is one of the last shows where my favourite models all walked together. The show was opened by Karlie Kloss who was merely a baby at the time but had confidence that one can only dream of, followed by Abbey Lee, Frida Gustavsson, Natasha Poly, Sasha Pivovarova and a whole host more. (Yes, I am aware that many of the girls listed aren’t Russian there.) I just think that the mid 2000s to around 2010 was a true high period in terms of top models. So many of my favourites belong to this era, and sadly many have quit modelling now (either part-time now or all together). It is odd because they are all still so young – I don’t think any of them have hit 30 yet – but in modelling terms they are old news. They have been replaced with one of the worst model trends of late, celebrity models & kids of rich people. Ah well, it all comes and goes in cycles.

The show was theatrical but the clothes weren’t. For that reason, it is one of my favourite Galliano collections. I cannot lie and say I am overly fond of his work because a lot of the time I just don’t get it. I cannot be a pseudo-intellectual and pretend that I see depth in fashion all the time because a lot of the time I just don’t. Don’t get me wrong, I adore the theatrical element of fashion – the glamour, the fun, the extravagance – but most of the time I’d prefer simpler clothes that I can actually envision somebody wearing. I think in terms of sales and wearability instead of pure creativity, however dull that may make me.

I love the lingerie-esque pieces, especially the little lace trimmed satin French knickers that peeked out from underneath coats and skirts, the lightweight chiffon fabrics that feel so perfect for the Spring/Summer season, and the cute reworkings of trench coats. Plus, the Old Hollywood, Lauren Bacall waves that I could never manage to achieve and the soft red lips that bring a retro mood over the entire collection. I love it, the entire vibe. That’s really all I can say. If I ever stumble across Sasha P’s dress on eBay or the likes it is mine!

Standard

Share your thoughts

