Shopping

SHOPPING FIND: Topshop VS Acne Studios

Hello!

I am excited to share this wonderful Acne dupe with you, mainly because I actually own it and can therefore vouch for it personally. The Acne Velocite jacket is perhaps infamous amongst bloggers and editors alike and you couldn’t look at a street style blog for the past perhaps 3-5 years without seeing one at some point. Abbey Clancy recently wore one on an episode of Britain’s Next Top Model (I cannot NOT watch those programmes, it’s a weakness) and it looked just so soft to touch yet slightly tough to look at. I love a contrast like that. For example, I’ll probably wear mine with dresses or skirts so it’s fun to mix the feminine with the masculine.

A few years ago I had a beige style from H&M that I thought was good enough (suede, not leather though) but then I got rid of it this summer: the colour didn’t work for my skin tone, let’s be real. Ever since I had been searching for a perfect copy as I just don’t have £2k to spend on a coat. Along comes this Goldie coat, c/o Topshop. I don’t think you can purchase it elsewhere. Obviously there are a few key differences between the two jackets: the Acne one is real shearling and leather, the Topshop one doesn’t have all the belts and buckles, and the Topshop one is merely a fraction of the price. If I could afford the Acne one I’d definitely buy it, especially because you get different coloured linings which are fantastic. I adore the one with the pale beige fur.

I think Keira Knightley wears her jacket well

As with the Acne jacket, the styling is meant to be slightly oversized. I worried that mine would be too big though but fortunately it fits fine. The fur running along the seams in the back reminded me of the multicoloured Prada shearling coats of a few seasons ago (Rihanna wore one, for an image reference). The entire lining is fur so it’s very cosy and the outer is leather (both are faux). However, for £98 you cannot complain too much. Mine was such a bargain as I had a 20% off code that Topshop sent me for my birthday (you know how rare Topshop discount codes are, especially if you don’t have a Unidays code) and also a £20 gift card, so I ended up only paying about £58(ish) including postage. The S/M is currently sold out but it’ll likely come back in stock as I’ve seen them replenish it a few times. I hope you all love it as much as I do!

SHOP ONLINE

Acne Studios – £2000 (currently out of stock)
Topshop – £98

Standard

Share your thoughts

