Fashion, Shows

Fashion Flashback: Zac Posen Spring 2003

I think it is so easy to forget that Zac Posen didn’t always do ball gowns. Whilst it can sometimes seem that he exclusively designs evening wear, he actually started off designing 30s and 40s style dresses. The show that I’ve picked is actually only his second season presenting. Zac attended Central Saint Martins and after Naomi Campbell wore one of his designs, his name blew up. After that his own shows became quite an attraction, usually with a cast of big name models. His social circle and connections no doubt helped with the hype.

Apologies for the lack of sound in the video, it was a copyright issue. However, if you have a look at the models in the show, you’ll likely recognise at least a few faces – Naomi Campbell, Natalia Vodianova, Liya Kebede, Karolina Kurkova. My favourite looks are Naomi’s final dress with the wrap front and flirty short skirt, and also Natalia’s bustier and striped skirt look.

As a designer, Zac Posen holds a special place in my heart. His company was the first I ever interned for and I had a wonderful time in doing so. I can tell you from first hand experience that his clothes are to die for, such insanely good quality, and the gowns are fit for a princess. You honestly couldn’t tell that they’re not haute couture. I truly believe he is America’s closest couturier.

See the full collection here.


Note: I am beginning a new series of posts entitled Fashion Flashback which will include videos of shows that I love and want to share with people. They will obviously be older shows, ie. more than 2 years old, that I think are important. I am not going to try and over-analyse the shows because that has been done countless times, I just want to appreciate them for their beauty and aesthetics.

Standard

Share your thoughts

