Celebrity & Red Carpet

Camilla Belle in Monique Lhuillier

While this outfit looked nice at Monique Lhuillier’s Spring 2016 runway show, Camilla Belle wears it so much better at the CFDA/Vogue’s Fashion Fund runway show and after-(tea) party than the model did on the runway. There were many guests at this event, most of whom were dressed nicely, but nobody could hold a candle to Belle this time around. I have to say though, Kim Kardashian’s look was one of her best in along time. It was an outdoor party which began with a runway show with looks from the 10 competitors (one of whom is Jonathan Simkhai who I am rooting for) who are up for the Fashion Fund prize. The winner of this year’s prize is due to be announced on November 2nd. 

Camilla Belle is someone who I know little about. I think the most I know about her is that she dated Joe Jonas soon after Taylor Swift did and then Taylor Swift wrote a song about her as a comeback, but I’m sure she’s done more than that (I just haven’t seen any of her movies). Her actual outfit, a embroidered floral crop top and trumpet skirt, was feminine and pretty without seeming too girly. I think that’s something that is tricky to do as women nowadays don’t want to be thought of as uber-girly and that can cause people to shy away from traditionally girly clothes and patterns like floaty skirts, florals etc. I also think that super-tight bodycon clothes are very much in fashion, as is ruching, so it is nice to see a skirt which has a bit of a flare but is properly fitted. Simply, this look is a breath of fresh air.

This is one of these posts where I begin writing it then realise that I have so little to say. How the hell do people manage to come up with captions for red carpet photos all the time? I cannot intellectualise it. All I want to say is that she looks good, I love the crop top, and that this is one of the few times that a full runway look (minus the shoes) actually looks better than it did on the model – I think her hair and eyebrows make all the difference (I love full eyebrows). Instead of rambling, I’ll leave it at that. She looks amazing, agree or disagree?

Standard

Share your thoughts

