Shows

Fashion Flashback: Alexander Wang Fall 2009

Now that it is confirmed that Alexander Wang and Balenciaga are parting ways and his final collection for the brand will be shown this month, I thought it was a good time to look back at some of his very best work at his own brand – he hopes to grow it. This show is from 2009. It was only 6 years ago yet look how much has changed for Alexander Wang in this time period. This was one of his early shows (I think it was his fifth or sixth season showing). Bear in mind that he didn’t even graduate from Parsons and was actually very young when he launched his brand.

I think this is quintessential Alexander Wang. It is everything that I’d expect from one of his shows. A booming soundtrack (Welcome to the Jungle is always a good choice, especially as the fashion industry has been compared to one quite a few times), an insane cast of models, lots of black, sharp tailoring, interesting twists, and the cool edginess that made him famous. Don’t you just love it?

I spent hours trawling Vestiaire Collective, looking for pieces from this show (or even just some older Wang) but I struggled to find much beside T stuff. Just show me Natasha Poly’s blazer or Cat McNeil’s coat and any of the hats, and I’m sold. Well, within reason…

MY FAVOURITE LOOKS

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Note: I am beginning a new series of posts entitled Fashion Flashback which will include videos of shows that I love and want to share with people. They will obviously be older shows, ie. more than 2 years old, that I think are important. I am not going to try and over-analyse the shows because that has been done countless times, I just want to appreciate them for their beauty and aesthetics.

 

Standard

Share your thoughts

