Celebrity & Red Carpet

2015 Emmys Best Dressed

I haven’t always been one to care about award shows. A lot of the time I don’t even know what is nominated or who has won. I do care about the red carpet though. I think it is an opportunity for the best gowns to be worn by beautiful people. I used to love watching “The Rachel Zoe Project” because she was always styling celebrities for appearances and she put them in great outfits that could only be worn there, giving them a real moment. Red carpet stylists aren’t always given enough credit (we often think fashion editors are higher up than them in terms of respectability), because when you think of it, red carpet appearances can make a star’s career. A good look can get you publicity online, on the covers of magazines, and even on the front page of national newspapers – that kind of exposure, especially if it is positive, is priceless.

I think, using Zoe’s own terminology, there were a lot of moments at the Emmys. See my favourites below:

Laverne Cox in Calvin Klein Collection. I’ve noticed that Francisco Costa seems to create a lot of red carpet looks that are always simple – a Calvin Klein hallmark – but stunning (think Kendall Jenner at Cannes). The colour looks insane on Laverne and the neckline makes her boobs look amazing.

Taraji P. Henson in custom Alexander Wang. Everyone’s favourite lady of the moment, Taraji looked cool as hell especially with the chain straps. However, wearing great designer gear isn’t much of a change for her as her character on Empire, Cookie, has the greatest wardrobe on television at the moment.

Lady Gaga in Brandon Maxwell. Fresh off the runway from his NYFW show, Lady Gaga wore one of her stylist’s creations to the Emmys. I can’t think of a better brand ambassador to be honest because she is wearing his dress brilliantly.

Amy Schumer in Zac Posen. Whilst I’m not a fan of the hair, the dress is classic Zac Posen – flattering, luxurious, and a stunning colour.

Kiernan Shipka in Dior. I can’t believe she is younger than I am yet infinitely cooler. I want to be her friend. I think she is at a difficult age in terms of red carpet dressing because she will likely see certain ensembles that are stunning but not age appropriate (and yes, I do think there’s such thing as age appropriate with clothes even if we think we can wear anything as teenagers). However, she nails it every time. She doesn’t dress conservatively but she does save herself some modesty by opting for really cool looks – and Dior works for her.

Padma Lakshmi in Romona Keveza. This colour is stunning (and has been spotted on quite a few runways in New York), I love the ruched bustier of the top, and the skirt of the dress looks fluid. I normally don’t like fishtail but I do like this take on it. Imagine this in white – a dream wedding dress.

Teyonah Parris in Francesca Miranda. Can you believe this is Dawn from Mad Men? I didn’t even recognise her. She looks amazing and it’s fun to see her in modern day dress (I’ve only ever seen her in costume). The dress reminded me a bit of Dolce & Gabbana, I think it was the pattern. However, I would’ve removed the beaded belt and replaced it with a plain sash.

Standard

Share your thoughts

