Personal

Personal Update

Hi!

I just wanted to make this post to give a little update on what I’m doing, my planned posting schedule and whatnot.

For the past 6 months or so, I’ve been studying full time but I’ve also managed to find the time to post quite a lot (well, when I am motivated/inspired to do so anyway). Now I’m moving into another full time position, this time a 9-5 job. This might mean that I post less and less, I’m not really sure how it’s going to pan out. Come the end of August and I’ll be studying again – this time part time – on top of working a full time job, so if everything goes to hell by then, I really do apologise.

A photo from inside the Barbican conservatory in London where I went a month or two ago. The Barbican has my favourite exhibition space and it's where I seen the Jean Paul Gaultier exhibition last year. Did any of you get to see it too? Let me know.

A photo from inside the Barbican conservatory in London where I went a month or two ago. The Barbican has my favourite exhibition space and it’s where I seen the Jean Paul Gaultier exhibition last year. Did any of you get to see it too? Let me know.

I just do my blog for fun. I enjoy compiling fun shopping finds and sharing my Polyvore sets and explaining why I used what and giving cheaper alternatives. I also enjoy writing longer length pieces, but recently that has become more difficult for me. I don’t know if it is because I’ve been busy with other things that by the time I have some free time, I don’t want to spend hours writing about something else. (I did a lot of essays last term…). Or is it something else? Sometimes I just struggle to come up with things to write about. I really don’t want to bore you all by talking about stuff that nobody cares about, including myself. Occasionally inspiration hits me and I want to write until I have nothing else to say: case in point, my American Apparel post. The whole situation going on in that company is so fascinating and it seems like the saga is never going to end. Maybe in another few months, once more drama has unfolded, I’ll do a follow-up. Anyway, I want to take this time to apologise for all the shopping posts as of lately. When I started this blog, I never intended for it to be a style blog (and I still don’t). I’m not exactly into the whole OOTD stuff, I prefer just looking at that on Instagram. The first post I did on this blog, I think, was a runway review (but don’t quote me on that). Of course, fashion month only comes twice a year and often I don’t actually have that much to say about things. I don’t want to write a whole post just saying “ooh I loved that” or “omg that was so pretty”, even if that’s what I’m thinking. I don’t mean to intellectualise fashion, because it is just clothes, but I do want to add a little bit more depth than that. I want to try and show why a runway show by Givenchy is so much more exciting and substantial than if Marks & Spencer decided to put on a catwalk; sometimes it’s tough to do.

As for my posting schedule, which may be a bit all over the place in the upcoming months, I plan to do around 5-10 posts per month, depending on how much spare time I have. I guarantee you a “Fashion Flashback” post on the 1st of every month. If you’ve not seen these before, I just either insert images or a video of a fashion show from the past that I love and want to share with everybody. In the past, these have been from the likes of Versace, Chanel, and Dior. It’s an excuse for me to trawl YouTube and watch fashion shows for hours at a time. Another post that you can expect to see is a “Shopping Find”, I usually name it “Shopping Find of the Week” but I think I should maybe retitle it month, because once a week is a hell of a lot, and who can afford to shop that much, am I right? These are usually a high street item and a designer item that look similar, so you have the option of either. Apart from these two which are pretty much a constant, the rest all comes down to what I’m thinking about at that time. Come runway season and there will be runway reviews (I like to do one post per city), and perhaps at Couture Week there will be a post too (because come on, the designs are divine most of the time). I also like to highlight stand out editorials if I see any that I love too. And of course, some Polyvore posts because I love styling sets. If there’s anything else that you’d like to see from me, please let me know.

I’m not sure if there’s anything that I’m missing, but if there is I’ll just add it on to the end of this post. Thanks again for reading my blog when you do. It’s so cool that I’ve had visitors from all around the world and, most of the time, I have no idea how you come across my blog, but I’m so glad that you do.

Standard

Share your thoughts

