Shows

Fashion Flashback: Balenciaga Fall 2013

Amidst rumours surrounding Alexander Wang’s departure from Balenciaga last month, I thought it would be a good time to throwback to his first collection for the brand. Wang’s appointment has always been slightly controversial. I have to say that I’m a fan of him, both his work for his own brands and Balenciaga, but I know that a lot of people are not. They say he doesn’t have the range or the talent to design for his own brands and a house as big and famed as Balenciaga. It didn’t help that he was following in Nicolas Ghesqueire’s footsteps – he’s a hard act to follow.

However, even looking at the first collection, I don’t think Wang has done a bad job. He tried to go back to the house’s DNA, something that designers taking over a fashion brand often do (think Raf Simons at Dior), but he has slightly strayed from that in the collections that have followed. To be honest, I understand why some people don’t like his work for Balenciaga. There was one season that I didn’t even care about it, Fall 2014 I think.

Anyway, this may not be the most groundbreaking collection, nor will it be one of Wang’s most remembered collection, but I did think it was one to consider, especially if it might be one of Wang’s few for the house. And hey, maybe his critics are right. Perhaps he should stick to his New York aesthetic. Either way, I love Alexander Wang. View the full collection here


Note: I am beginning a new series of posts entitled Fashion Flashback which will include videos of shows that I love and want to share with people. They will obviously be older shows, ie. more than 2 years old, that I think are important. I am not going to try and over-analyse the shows because that has been done countless times, I just want to appreciate them for their beauty and aesthetics.

Standard

Share your thoughts

