Shopping

Most Used Items on Polyvore (with Cheaper Options)

Most Used Items

If you haven’t realised already, I love Polyvore. I have a little bit of an obsession with it and post new sets almost every day. I see it as a fun way to indulge in a bit of fantasy shopping. The outfits are usually well out of my price range and are things that I’d wear if I were taller/better looking/living a rather cosmopolitan life. I’ve noticed that often I reach for the same pieces, figuratively, so I thought I should compile a little cluster map of my Polyvore basics. As you can see, I tend to go for the same colours (black, white, nude, beige, camel, and a little bit of blue denim). I actually had a few more items that I wanted to include but the limit per set is 50. There are a few bodysuits, cami tops, skinny jeans, high waisted trousers, skirts, and a whole bunch of shoes. On the little icons below, you can click to be redirected to Polyvore to see the designer and the price (some of which are really ridiculous).

I thought it would now be a good time to mention that half of the stuff that I use on Polyvore from high-end brands can be found on the high street (or in fast fashion stores, depending on what you call it) for much less, so I’m going to do a sort-of master post of alternatives. For example, on Polyvore I usually use Margiela or Rick Owens bodysuits, just because in a dream world I would be buying them (the quality and thickness is a stand out factor), but in real life I’d buy them from Missguided and Boohoo, and occasionally American Apparel (I linked a couple in a previous post, here).

Furthermore, with all the handbags you can find a cheaper, non-branded version elsewhere. The bags I usually go for are the Gucci Soho tote (black patent leather), Givenchy Nightingale (slouchy, also black), and the Saint Laurent monogram (my favourite bag at the moment). However, in the past I’ve often used Prada bags (hard to find on Polyvore however as Prada’s e-Store isn’t great for photos) and I also find myself reaching for a black MaxMara tote these days too. However, I don’t actually have any of these bags in real life. I find that H&M and Topshop usually have great alternatives though. For example, think of the classic Givenchy Antigona or the Celine Phantom – the winged styles with long shoulder straps. You can get a bag in a similar style from H&M for £30. Also, if you’re looking for an evening bag, this Topshop style is clearly Versace inspired for £25. They have an Alexander Wang Rocco-esque barrel bag for £38, too. There’s no shortage of designer inspired handbags in high street stores and they’re not complete knockoffs like you find on Canal Street so there’s no guilt factor. 

For cami tops, I recommend Topshop. The v-neck style from Topshop comes in a bunch of different colours and is £16, minus 10% if you get student discount (plus, the straps are thick enough to cover your bra straps which is always a win because strapless bras suck). For day dresses and work dresses, H&M is your best bet. The black wrap-over style I included is only £10. And as for those ruched midi skirts that you see on everyone, you can buy them on any online boutique (Missguided, Boohoo, Inthestyle) so it’s no longer necessary to shell out £200ish for the Rick Owens version.

As for shoes, unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ll have noticed that lace up heels are a big deal and have been for about a year. I’m glad because I love them. Although my favourite styles will always be a classic pointed toe pump (think Manolo Blahnik BBs) or a skinny strap style (Stuart Weitzman Nudists), lace up heels come a close third. For the Manolos, New Look have a good alternative for £28 (real leather) or £15. For the Stuart Weitzman style, Missguided have a leather style pair for £25. Justfab have some lace up sandals, as do Primark (in-store only, and they also have flats like the Aquazurra ones I’ve included in the set for £10), and Missguided, Boohoo, etc. Fortunately when things are in “style”, so to speak, they become available at more and more places so they’re accessible on every budget.

So I think that’s about it. The only thing that I’m yet to find a good alternative for is the Rosetta Getty cardigan (long, camel coloured). It looks so luxurious and expensive. Let me know if you’ve seen any cheaper alternatives because I really love the style. I was thinking ASOS might have some, but I’m not too sure. Click on any of the icon below for more information on each of the items.

Standard

Share your thoughts

