Shows

Fashion Flashback: Christian Dior Haute Couture Fall 2012

I watched “Dior and I” in March and it focuses mainly on the making of this collection, so I thought I should post it. I’m guessing some other people have also watched the film and perhaps want to see more of the show. The film itself shows the entire design process from the initial research to the sketches to the toiles to the fittings to the final show, and it was really amazing to see the clothes being made from start to finish. Seeing the work of the atelier in the film made me realise just how superb haute couture really is. The craftmanship is unparalleled.

This show was Raf Simons’ debut for the house and it was quite a big event. For one, the brand had been receiving a lot of bad press following John Galliano’s well known outburst which led to his dismissal. Simons only had 8 weeks to design the collection and have it made to completion. It was hectic to say the least. I’ve really never been that fussed for Raf, mainly because I think that a lot of what he’s done at Dior after this show has been so similar, but I do adore this show. The clothes look back to the designs of Christian Dior himself and it was Simons’ attempt to go back to the house codes and redefine them.

I love the tuxedos which looked back to Dior’s bar jacket and the beautiful full skirts. Also, the set is insane. The walls full of flowers are so beautiful and I can only imagine how divine it must have smelled. I think this is one of the most beautiful collections I’ve ever seen and I definitely understand the high praise that Raf received for it. Although this film really taught me that it is not just the designer, but all the staff who bring a collection together. Unfortunately, it’s just the designer who gets the credit. 


Note: I am beginning a new series of posts entitled Fashion Flashback which will include videos of shows that I love and want to share with people. They will obviously be older shows, ie. more than 2 years old, that I think are important. I am not going to try and over-analyse the shows because that has been done countless times, I just want to appreciate them for their beauty and aesthetics.

Standard

Share your thoughts

