Fashion, Shows

Fashion Flashback: Altuzarra Fall 2009 & Spring 2010

I figured that because I talk about Altuzarra at any possible opportunity it was only apt that I added him to my fashion flashback series. This is actually a double post, if you will, as I’m going to talk about two collections because they were both collections of firsts: his debut collection and his debut runway show.

The New York based brand is still very young, founded in 2008. The first collection was presented in the Fall 2009 season and featured 18 looks, the majority of which are strong and could still be worn now (the metallic pieces at the end should be ignored, the moment has passed). There was some odd fur tails in the first few looks and a couple of dresses which, looking back, are very Alexander Wang (he was establishing himself at this time too), but apart from that it is a strong debut. The camel looks are my favourite – they look cosy. It’s funny looking at this now because 2009 seems so recently but really it was 7 years ago. I can still remember people wearing dresses like the bodycon ones.

MY FAVOURITE LOOKS FROM FALL 2009

The second collection, Spring 2010, was a little bit different. I think starting from this collection, it seemed like Altuzarra knew what he wanted his signatures to be – plunging necklines and tight skirts – and it is here that we are introduced to styles that are familiar nowadays; asymmetric hems, low-cut tops, and interesting fabric combinations. There was good use of suede in here (one of my favourite materials), the shoes are very cool, and the neutral colour palette is something that I appreciate.

MY FAVOURITE LOOKS FROM SPRING 2010

Before starting his own brand, Altuzarra worked for Riccardo Tisci at Givenchy. I think this experience must have shaped him as a designer. It makes sense then that I love Altuzarra as a brand, because I adore most of what Tisci does too. I really wish him years of success ahead and I hope Altuzarra continues to develop his brand – I love the bags, the latest addition.

Note: This is a series of posts entitled Fashion Flashback which will include videos of shows that I love and want to share with people. They will obviously be older shows, ie. more than 2 years old, that I think are important. I am not going to try and over-analyse the shows because that has been done countless times, I just want to appreciate them for their beauty and aesthetics.

Standard

Share your thoughts

