Opinion, Shows

Sally LaPointe Pre-Fall 2015 Collection – A Review

How often is it that you see something and instantly fall in love? How rare is it to find something that you cannot fault? However slim the chances are, this is exactly what has happened with this collection: I adore it. I don’t remember the last time that I seen a collection and liked every single piece shown. I cannot recall ever seeing a collection and actually wanting to own everything in it – and I mean everything. As fashion is very much subjective and different for everyone, rarely does your aesthetic line up exactly with somebody else’s but I think that has happened in this situation. The colour palette, the cuts, the styling, the shoes, the entire vibe – it worked. If a collection could embody me, or what I would hope to be, it is this one.

Can you spot Natasha Lyonne (one of my faves) in a dress by the designers?

Can you spot Natasha Lyonne (one of my faves) in a dress by the designers?

Now for a little bit of history on the brand: Sally LaPointe, according to the brand’s website, is designed and produced in New York by the namesake woman and Sarah Adelson, both graduates of Rhode Island School of Design where they met. The brand is fairly new, having only being founded in 2010, but has achieved considerable success in that time with famous clients such as Lady Gaga, Kim Kardashian and Katy Perry along with retailers such as Bergdorf Goodman and Shopbob (online) and other boutiques around the world stocking their designs. Despite their growth, they are still a very small company – according to an article on fashionista.com from March 2014, they have 4 employees.

GALLERY OF THE COLLECTION

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think what is key to this brand is the “powerfully feminine” DNA that runs through all the collections. The first time that I really paid attention to them was last season (Spring 2015) and that was purely because it was the first I had heard of them, sadly. However, I have since gone back and looked at past collections and realised that this is a brand that really speaks to me, a brand that I would actually wear. If this collection is anything to go by, it can only get better.

LINKS

Shopbop.com to shop online

Instagram for some inspiration photos

Website for information about the brand and its designers and images of past collections

Standard

Share your thoughts

