Celebrity & Red Carpet

VMAs & The Emmys – Best Dressed

Ahh, MTV’s Video Music Awards are probably my favourite awards of the year. Not because I believe thereto be huge significance or meaning behind them, but mainly because the show is usually very entertaining. The artists performing really pull out all stops and put on a show that you cannot forget. So many of the biggest pop culture moments have happened at the VMAs. For example, Miley Cyrus & Robin Thicke’s unforgettable and crazily embarrassing gyrating extravaganza last year; Kanye West famously interrupting Taylor Swift, proclaiming Beyonce had the “best video of all time”; Madonna and Britney’s kiss; Lady Gaga’s meat dress; Rose McGowan’s revealing chain dress back in the 90s (which Amber Rose channelled this year). There have been so many.

This year’s VMAs were no different. I mean, yes, it was less controversial I think, but still hugely enjoyable. Beyonce’s whistle-stop tour of her “On The Run” show was incredible. It may have brought a tear to my eye, for reasons I don’t understand. Beyonce just has that power to make everybody and anybody love her, you can’t ignore how amazing she is. And when Jay-Z brought her daughter Blue Ivy on stage, it tied it all together and made it a moment you can’t forget. Especially as Beyonce announced her pregnancy to the world at the VMAs in 2011. It was a great performance and an amazing way to bring the show to a close.

The Emmys, on the other hand, is a much more tame affair. I don’t even know if the show is broadcast on the tv, if it is I have never watched it. I literally only pay attention to the red carpet looks and that is it. Well that’s what I do with most award shows anyway. All I know about the Emmys is that it honours television as opposed to music. So instead of me rambling on about what I do and don’t know, I’m going to do a little breakdown of the looks I liked the best from each awards show.

VMAs

Queen Bey in Nicolas Jebran, a Lebanese designer.

Queen Bey in Nicolas Jebran, a Lebanese designer.

Sarah Hyland from Modern Family in Kaufmanfranco.

Sarah Hyland from Modern Family in Kaufmanfranco.

Someone who I never thought would make it onto my best dressed - Miley Cyrus in matching black leather attire (designer unknown to me as of now).

Someone who I never thought would make it onto my best dressed – Miley Cyrus in matching black leather attire (designer unknown to me as of now).

This photo is purely for Kendall Jenner. I thought she looked great. She has an elegance that none of her other family members have. I didn't realise how short Kim was until I seen these photos lol. I'm not going to pass comment on Kim & Kylie because I don't want to spread negativity...

This photo is purely for Kendall Jenner. I thought she looked great. She has an elegance that none of her other family members seem to have. I didn’t realise how short Kim was until I seen these photos lol.Ā 

Nicki Minaj in Saint Laurent. Her performing outfits were on point this year too, even with that wardrobe malfunction.

Nicki Minaj in Saint Laurent. Her performing outfits were on point this year too, even with that wardrobe malfunction.

Emmys

Taylor Schilling, from Orange is the New Black, in Zuhair Murad.

Taylor Schilling, from Orange is the New Black, in Zuhair Murad.

Sarah Hyland looking effortlessly cool. The full, formal skirt is balanced out by the strappy crop top, it's wonderful. She has made it on the list for both events.

Sarah Hyland looking cool. The full, formal skirt is balanced out by the strappy crop top, it’s wonderful. She has made it on the list for both events.

January Jones in Prabal Gurung.

January Jones in Prabal Gurung.

Kerry Washington in Prada.

Kerry Washington in Prada.

Michelle Dockery in Rosie Assoulin. I looooooove this dress.

Michelle Dockery in Rosie Assoulin. I looooooove this dress.

 

So there we go, that’s my best dressed list completed. Let me know if you agree with my choices or if there’s others you would have picked instead.

Standard

Share your thoughts

