Personal

Apology & Update

Firstly, I apologise for the excess of Polyvore posts. I have just deleted a few but I will no doubt accidentally share more. If any of you have played around with the app/website you will realise how easy it is for sets to be shared once you have linked up accounts (hence why so many sets have been posted by me). I have found myself using the website frequently nowadays so I have linked my page on the blog now.

Secondly, I have made the decision that I need to post more but also of higher quality. I am going to use my blog to try and develop my writing skills. If I want to get ahead in fashion I need to be literate – highly literate. I need to be able to produce copy at high speed, to be able to write accurately, think up ideas often and convey what I am thinking in words. There is no point in me having all of these ideas and thoughts if I can’t share them with anybody. I feel that my blog is something I should be proud of and something that I should be keen to share with others. But it is not. I don’t feel like my blog is up to the standard I want or my writing up to scratch. I feel that some of my posts lack depth, lack references and lack heart. If I ever feel myself posting just for the sake of posting, I won’t bother.

There are so many blogs out there that are better than mine (and probably a few that are worse) that all have things to say, valid critiques, and that is something I need to develop. There’s no point in me posting something stupid and meaningless. I am currently working on learning as much as I can. I want to know all there is to know – about anything and everything. Fashion, culture, film, art, literature: all of which provide a good basis for adding depth and worth to what I am saying. So I’m going to do my homework. I’m going to watch movies, I’m going to read books, I’m going to learn as much as I can.

Finally, I can’t pretend that there won’t be a few shallow and somewhat silly posts. What can I say? That may be what I am enjoying at that time. I won’t pretend to be some high-brow intellectual who listens to classical music and does abstract paintings in my spare time if what I really enjoy is some cult-classic movies and tv programmes like The Simpsons (which actually provides some cheeky and truthful social commentary for the most part).

So here’s to a re-vamped, hopefully better blog!

Standard

Share your thoughts

