Celebrity & Red Carpet

Met Gala 2014 – Best Dressed

Now I may be a week late in posting this but when do I ever post on this blog on time? I am what you may call a periodic blogger with a short attention span. I go through phases where posting seems like a great time and I have myriad ideas in my head. Then I go through these other stages where this is the last thing on my mind and it begins to feel like a slight chore. For this reason, I took a bit of a break. Now upon returning from my little hiatus I have decided what better way to come back than with a post about the Met Ball? (or should I call it Met Gala? Varies from person to person).

As you know, each year there is a different theme for the event which coincides with the exhibition that is being opened. Previous themes have included last year’s punk to commemorate the Punk: Chaos to Couture exhibition along with many honouring distinct designers such as Alexander McQueen (2011)  or the House of Chanel (2005).  This year’s outing is entitled “Charles James: Beyond Fashion” to celebrate the America’s first couturier. Perhaps not as big a name as some of those commemorated in the past, but worthy nonetheless. The designer himself was famed for his glamorous gowns and the complex cutting techniques used to create them. So as one may assume, high glamour ball gowns were what we should see on the red carpet. Many of the attendees done it right, floor length masterpieces, or at least a pretty dress. Others kind of missed the mark in my opinion, dressed more in club wear (Rosie Huntington Whiteley). I will always champion Balmain but did not work in this instance.

Anyhow, I am not here to focus on the negatives. Putting, in my opinion, the best forward I now present you with my top ten (in no particular order).

allison williams oscar de la renta

Allison Williams (from Girls) in Oscar de la Renta

beyonce givenchy

Queen Bey in Givenchy

blake lively gucci premiere

Blake Lively in Gucci

diane kruger boss

Diana Kruger in BOSS

dita von teese zac posen

Dita Von Teese in Zac Posen. She looks divine!

gisele balenciaga

Gisele Bundchen in Balenciaga

jessica alba dvf

Jessica Alba in Diane von Furstenberg

kim kanye lanvin

Slightly embarrassing to say but Kim Kardashian in Lanvin. I love the dress and the colour is magnificent, a significant improvement from last year’s monstrosity.

leighton meester emilio pucci

Leighton Meester in Emilio Pucci

taylor swift oscar de la renta

Taylor Swift in Oscar de la Renta

 

 

Odd to think I’m including Kim K on that list but I honestly really liked her dress, albeit the split could have been a little less prominent but otherwise a great dress. Unfortunately I think due to Kanye and that now-infamous Vogue cover, Kim will be at these events and we will have to put up with the excess of “selfies” with any fashion connected person that will speak to her. However, if she continues to serve looks like this, that wont be too much of an issue.

My personal favourite of the night is most definitely Blake Lively who oozed Old Hollywood glamour. The dress fits like a glove and is simply stunning.

Also, congratulations to Anna Wintour for the “Anna Wintour Costume Centre” named after her opened by First Lady Michelle Obama. Her contributions to the fashion industry seem to be endless and now the centre will further secure her legacy for years to come.

 

Charles James: Beyond Fashion runs from 8th May – 10th August 2014 at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City.

Standard

Share your thoughts

