Shows

Chanel – A/W RTW 2013

Chanel is one of the brands that everybody knows, everybody has heard of and everybody has some level of respect for. When I was really little the brands I had heard of were Chanel, Dolce & Gabbana, YSL and Dior. They were the only brands I had heard of because they are known all over the world. I come from a household where nobody really cares about fashion yet everyone still knows of them purely because they are household names. Since I was about 9 years old I decided I wanted to own a quilted Chanel handbag (you must know the type I mean), maybe one day I will.

Chanel are lucky enough to have one of the best and most respected designers ever to live as their head designer and have done for decades. I have the utmost respect for Karl Lagerfeld. The man is a genius, creatively and ,from what I understand, as a person as well. Every season there is some form of talk about if this will be Karl’s last collection, who will be his successor, if he has lost his creativity – quite frankly it makes me sad. I cannot and do not want to imagine a world without Karl designing. Yes, he may still have Fendi if he doesn’t have Chanel but really, Chanel without Karl just doesn’t seem right. I associate Karl with Chanel more than I associate Coco herself! I often ponder as to who Karl’s successor may be and still, I have no clue. I can’t think of a single soul who can do for Chanel what Karl has done over the years.

Karl as a person seems to cause much debate for people but should his personality really effect the clothing and people’s opinions of it? Personally, I love how he is outspoken. Some of his views are a little off but in general I think he’s quite witty. To quote the man himself, “Sweatpants are a sign of defeat. You lost control of your life so you bought some sweatpants.”  In the eyes of Karl, the majority of the population of the UK and USA and probably a whole lot more countries have, in his eyes, lost control of their lives. To me it is utterly hilarious. Another reason to love him..

For the past few years I have seen so many people saying they care more about the set of the show rather than the collection itself. To some extent I agree, some of the collections have been slightly underwhelming recently and in contrast some of the sets have been incredible masterpieces in themselves. For example, there was the set with the carousel back in Fall 2008 or the big barn of Spring 2010, all beautiful and exciting sets that slightly distracted from the collections but contributed to the show on the whole.

I seem to have backtracked from the main point of this post, that point being Chanel’s Fall 2013 collection. I wasn’t 100% in love with this collection but I definitely did like it. There was the usual that was expected from a Chanel collection – tweeds, two piece suits, the classic silhouettes – but there was also something dark and something slightly edgy about the collection. I was so in love with the colours used. There were a whopping 80 looks in this collection and while some were dull, others were stunning. I suppose it must be difficult to create 80 looks all at once. Karl has a crazy huge workload, I really don’t know how he does it again and again, he always delivers.

I absolutely adored..

I like the fabric and the bubble sleeves.

I like the fabric and the bubble sleeves.

I absolutely love the shape and the multiple layers on the dress. Beautifully fitted too.

I absolutely love the shape and the multiple layers on the dress. Beautifully fitted too.

I adore the colour, the collar on the jacket and I would love love love to have the skirt in my life.

I adore the colour, the collar on the jacket and I would love love love to have the skirt in my life.

Amazing 3D flowers on this, looks so incredible.

Amazing 3D flowers on this, looks so incredible.

I love the slightly slouchy fit of the coat and how it is longer at the sides than the front. Also, I've decided that Soo Joo Park is definitely my favourite model of this season.

I love the slightly slouchy fit of the coat and how it is longer at the sides than the front. Also, I’ve decided that Soo Joo Park is definitely my favourite model of this season.

This gave me feelings of medieval queens. Idk.

This gave me feelings of medieval queens. Idk.

I liked but wasn’t blown away by..

Pretty as fuck.

Pretty as fuck.

I liked the sheer everywhere and the pleats on the skirt section.

I liked the sheer everywhere and the pleats on the skirt section.

Once again I love the 3D flower details and the cool shape.

Once again I love the 3D flower details and the cool shape.

I didn’t like..

Although I have previously said I'm a fan of the 3D flowers, I don't really like this. Too much.

Although I have previously said I’m a fan of the 3D flowers, I don’t really like this. Too much.

Unflattering proportions.

Unflattering proportions.

Baptiste dressed in an old lady's coat. Why is he in a womanswear show anyway?

Baptiste dressed in an old lady’s coat. Why is he in a womanswear show anyway?

 

What do you think about this Chanel collection?

Standard

Share your thoughts

