Shows

Dolce & Gabbana – A/W RTW 2013

While it may be a borderline unpopular opinion, I still love Dolce & Gabbana. Yes, there may be the slight overboard of references to their culture and sometimes a little too much gold, for me it still works. I think it’s their ad campaigns in recent years which make me love the brand so much, they’re fun and seem like it’s really a (super hot) family photo instead of forced shot like some others. To me, Dolce & Gabbana still screams luxury and wealth, when I was younger I had always heard of Dolce & Gabbana as I read in (my mum’s) magazines about famous actresses wearing them and which as a little kid was my only knowledge of fashion, as they were probably one of the first luxury brands I was ever exposed to so it’s always going to stick with me. To me, I’ve always had the idea that the brand is just purely classy with sex appeal and somehow that’s what I like.
Now although there was lots of religious references which some may hate, I didn’t mind it. I read elsewhere that this collection referenced the movie “La Dolce Vita” but I have never seen it so I can’t judge whether I picked up on the references or not. I thought the collection was very elegant and exactly what I expected, that’s probably a negative for most people but I think of it as positive. I always know that I am going to like at least some of what I see with this brand.

Now I may contradict things I have said in the past when discussing Dolce & Gabbana for example, I usually detest prints, I’m really all for minimalism in general, but for Dolce & Gabbana I absolutely treasure the prints. Often they are very beautiful and work for the brand itself. I can see THE Dolce & Gabbana girl in my head (always Bianca Balti of course). I don’t know, I just have a soft spot for these designers, however repetitive they may be.

Now onto the collection…. PHOTO HEAVY FROM NOW ON.

I wouldn't expect this from Dolce & Gabbana, it almost feels too simple for them. I really like it. The way it's accessorized brings it all together perfectly.

I wouldn’t expect this from Dolce & Gabbana, it almost feels too simple for them. I really like it. The way it’s accessorized brings it all together perfectly.

Pretty cut out details on the front with a basic yet beautiful shape.

Pretty cut out details on the front with a basic yet beautiful shape.

Simple beautiful shape and such an intense colour.

Simple beautiful shape and such an intense colour.

I adore the simplicity of this jacket and the shape of the hips.

I adore the simplicity of this jacket and the shape of the hips.

I like the contrast of the sweetness of the high neck to the sexiness of the lace. Because it's white it still manages to look innocent and delicate.

I like the contrast of the sweetness of the high neck to the sexiness of the lace. Because it’s white it still manages to look innocent and delicate.

I adore the gold corset, it looks like it'd be very uncomfortable to wear but it looks incredible so that's all that matters.

I adore the gold corset, it looks like it’d be very uncomfortable to wear but it looks incredible so that’s all that matters.

Kate King looking like an absolute queen to open the show. Beautiful embellishments on the dress and I love the crown she wears, ahhh.

Kate King looking like an absolute queen to open the show. Beautiful embellishments on the dress and I love the crown she wears, ahhh.

I don't know why I like this, I probably shouldn't but somehow I do. It's so over embellished and too much yet somehow it works. Maybe it's the model.

I don’t know why I like this, I probably shouldn’t but somehow I do. It’s so over embellished and too much yet somehow it works. Maybe it’s the model.

Pretty and sexy at the same damn time.

Pretty and sexy at the same damn time.

An army of scarlet beauties.

An army of scarlet beauties.

Standard

Share your thoughts

